Top 5 Ending Songs in videogames

So you’ve slaved away in front of your videogame for days and days on end, maybe even months, and you’ve finally beaten the end boss and finished the game. At this point, either one of two things can happen: you can get a shitty and unfulfilling ending that makes you wonder why you’ve wasted so much time on this piece of crap (a la Metal Gear Solid 2), or you can have a really sweet ending complete with a song that just sticks in your head and makes the whole gaming experience that much more special – if it worked for Titanic, why wouldn’t it work for videogames, right?

Anyway, here’s a list of the Top 5 best end songs in videogames!

#5 – “I am the Wind” from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night

This end song sits on that fine line between touching and seriously tacky, but I think it still leans towards the touching side. The game is awesome, and beating the game is either an epic endeavor or a quick playthrough with a FAQ loaded up on your laptop… if you did it the hard way, then this song is well-deserved and will feel less tacky for you.

#4 – “I Wish” from Shenmue

Games rarely come as epic as Shenmue and somewhere towards the end of the game, your character rescues the girl and ride off on a motorcycle. That’s awesome. HOWEVER, when I got to this stage of the game on my Dreamcast, there was NO MUSIC. I watched the longish motorcycle sequence in silence, and I thought to myself… “What gives? This bit would be a hell of a lot better if there was some touching piece of music playing.” Apparently, there was supposed to be, but for some reason my Dreamcast glitched and I didn’t get any. I had to watch it on YouTube years and years later… but it’s still awesome anyway.

#3 – “Girl in the Tower” from King’s Quest VI

This end song is not only special because it’s awesome, but because it’s the very first ballad in a videogame. King’s Quest VI was a game that completely sucked me in when I was a kid with its beautiful graphics, clever puzzles and the great plot. And to top off the romantic quest, it finishes with a ballad that really should’ve gotten more airplay than “Endless Love”.

#2 – “Still Alive” – Portal

Portal was a very special game, with a really unique take on puzzle-solving. The short gameplay experience was made more lasting by that extremely quirky and catchy song that GLaDOS sings over the end credits. I finished the game over a couple of nights, but I was humming that tune for at least a month after I finished it. And when the song came out on Rockband, we all fell in love with it all over again.

#1 – “Dreams Dreams” from NiGHTS Into Dreams

There is no videogame out there more beautiful than NiGHTS. Playing this game is an entirely different experience from any other game out there, and I was hooked the moment I touched it. The soundtrack for the game was also incredibly magical, so for it’s ending it deserves nothing less than an equally touching song, and Dreams Dreams is one such song. Honestly, hearing this song turns me into a softy and makes me go all kinds of weepy, and will cause every single special moment of my childhood to flood my mind. Strangely, most of these moments involve videogames… which probably gives you some kinda insight into my geeky upbringing.

Hidden in the game disc somewhere is also another version sung by the two kids, and it’s pretty awesome too.

So there are my top 5 songs. What about you? Which ending songs have made you go all kinds of gushy and mushy?

Edit: There’s been a new contender for the Top 5 Ending songs, and it comes from Plants vs Zombies! Read the post here.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order). View all posts by Drew

6 responses to “Top 5 Ending Songs in videogames

  • The Space Pope

    There have been many times over the years that I have doubted your masculinity and your taste in music. I can now just use this post as an example instead of having to think about it or explain why. Thanks

  • Mainey

    What masculinity? 😀

  • The Space Pope

    american football isnt real football

    all that body armour and helmets, women all of them

  • Jeeves86

    Awesome, Dreams Dreams and Girl in the Tower are awesome. I also propose “Late Goodbye” by prophets of the fall at the end of Max Payne 2. Man, if you get immersed in the game and finish it, the song really fits. And also “Take Me Home” by After Midnight Project at the end of Prey…

  • Drew

    I don’t really remember the end of Max Payne 2, actually. I loved the game, but dunno why I don’t remember that song. I’m going to go look it up now!

Drop a comment!

