Top 5 Brutal Interrogation moments (updated)

(This post is updated to include Hard Candy at the #3 spot. I can’t believe I forgot to include it the first time)

Jo and I, like a lotta other people I know, have been playing Splinter Cell Conviction, and some of the nastier parts of the game are the brutal interrogation scenes where Sam beats the crap out of people in order to get info from them. I mean, check out this video of Sam interrogating some poor gang boss in a toilet. Watch as his head goes through the urinal. That’s so unhygienic!

Being nasty to people in order to get them to confess stuff is nothing new to games and movies, so I figured I’ll just round up a Top 5 list of pretty brutal interrogation moments in games and movies.

#5 – The Punisher videogame

I’ve never actually played this game, but I’ve heard a lot about the violent interrogation moments where Frank Castle beats the crap out of people for info. So I looked it up on YouTube, and the first thing I see is some dude getting his throat jammed in a window. The shit that follows is no less painful, so yeah… it’s pretty brutal. Of course, the animation and graphics has got nothing on Splinter Cell: Conviction, this game’s half a decade old.

#4 – Scarface

Among the numerous memorable moments in this classic film is the bit where Tony is strung up in a bathroom while his friends are slowly being cut to pieces by some Colombian gangsters. The scene had enough impact to be referenced in a lot of games and movies, including a mission in GTA: Vice City that’s almost a total remake of it.

Wrrrrr!!!

#3 – Hard Candy

I can’t believe I forgot to include Hard Candy in this list the first time around. Shit, this movie is basically one long and brutal interrogation sequence! A pedophile “snares” a young teen and brings her to his home… but then she turns out to be one psycho kid with an agenda? This movie is awesome! If it was more ingrained in pop culture, it would probably overtake Reservoir Dogs too! Here’s the trailer, which doesn’t really get across just how creepy the movie is.

#2 – Reservoir Dogs

The most iconic moment in Tarantino’s debut film has got to be the bit where Michael Madsen starts giving the cop a Van Gogh makeover, while the most random music plays on the radio. It’s just such a weird mix of music and subject matter, and anyone who’s seen this movie cannot possibly hear that song without thinking of ear slashing.

The Van Gogh makeover

I can’t embed the scene, but you can check it out the nastiness on YouTube here.

#1 – Robocop

Okay, this scene will probably not top anyone else’s lists, but it does for me. In the clip below, fast forward to about 2:10 into the video and you’ll see Robocop begin to extract information from bad-ass Clarence Boddicker. He does this by reading him his Miranda Rights… while throwing him through not one, not two, but THREE windows in succession. This scene is defenestration defined!!! Ain’t nothing cooler than a cyborg throwing a gangster with glasses through a window again and again hahaha!

And yes, that is Kurtwood Smith, aka the dad from That 70’s Show.

Memorable mention: The Long Kiss Goodnight

Okay, first off, I’ll admit that this isn’t particularly brutal. But it resonated with me for two reasons: I’m shit-scared of drowning, and this scenes scares the hell out of me. And the other reason is of course, Geena Davis in a wet nightgown.

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order). View all posts by Drew

One response to “Top 5 Brutal Interrogation moments (updated)

Drop a comment!

