Indie Rock Hottie of the Week: Liz Phair

Recently I can’t seem to get enough of Liz Phair. Maybe it’s cos the fact that I’m now in my 30s has become extremely unavoidable and I’m trying to relive my hey-days in the 90s, when I could listen to the radio without needing to switch channels all the time because every other song makes my poopy-hole cringe. Or maybe it’s just that her music tends to be a helluva lot better than the stuff that comes from a rhyming vegan or the daughter of a one-hit wonder.

In case you’ve never heard of Liz Phair, she hit the scene in the 90s as an indie rock goddess, with Supernova being one of her more radio-friendly and popular songs. Her lyrics were full of dirty talk, like singing about being a blowjob queen in Flower, or loving man-cream in HWC (Hot White Cum), and you would never guess because the filthy lyrics were coupled with clean guitars and sweet singing. She rocks a guitar, she dressed like the way you’d like a cool chick to dress, and she is well… basically an older, more authentic and less-manufactured version of Avril Lavigne.

She is basically an older, more authentic and less-manufactured version of Avril Lavigne.

Anyway, people complain that she sold out a few years ago when she released an album of pop friendly songs, co-written by the same production group that was responsible for Avril Lavigne’s early hits, but you know what? I don’t give a crap. I like the newer stuff, and yeah, I like Avril Lavigne too. (so fuck all you Avril-haters out there hahaha!).


Bonus points for name-dropping Xbox!

She released a new album recently, and it’s supposed to be a return to her roots. I haven’t heard it yet, but I’ll definitely go and check it out. In the meantime, you should go and find yourself someone cool, put on some Liz Phair tunes, and then proceed to “fuck like a volcano.”

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order). View all posts by Drew

One response to “Indie Rock Hottie of the Week: Liz Phair

Drop a comment!

