Whatever happened to the Power Ballad?

Back in the 80s and 90s, power ballads were all the rage and you couldn’t listen to the radio without hearing them. Actually, it was already big during the 70s, but I wasn’t listening to music then due to a slight case of not being born yet. Anyway, Bon Jovi pretty much made a career doing it, and soon you had people holding up lighters at every other concert out there.

Power Ballads rock

So what happened to them? I mean, you don’t get stuff like that on the radio anymore. It’s all pop, punk, and hip hop. Admittedly, a lot of power ballads were very tacky and probably led to the genre’s downfall, but still it sure beats all the Justin Bieber and Kesha stuff that’s flooding the radio now.

Just to do my part to try to bring these power ballads back, I went onto the Bob forums to see which power ballads those guys liked, and made a playlist for you guys.

  • Skid Row – I remember you
  • Motley Crue – Home Sweet Home
  • Def Leppard – Two Steps Behind
  • Scorpions – Still Loving You
  • Whitesnake – Here I Go Again
  • Styx – Show Me The Way
  • Aerosmith – Dream On
  • Aerosmith – I don’t want to miss a thing
  • Guns and Roses – November Rain
  • Heart – Alone
  • REO Speedwagon – Can’t Fight This Feeling
  • Bad English – When I See You Smile
  • Roxette – Listen to your Heart
  • Roxette – Fading Like a Flower
  • Roxette – It must have been love
  • Poison – Every Rose has its Thorn
  • Journey – Faithfully
  • Eric Carmen – Make me lose Control

Okay, there are definitely a lot more greats out there, so if we’re missing something, drop a comment and tell us your favorite power ballads!

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order). View all posts by Drew

4 responses to “Whatever happened to the Power Ballad?

  • ATV Tires

    It’s time to bring these babies back from obscurity!

  • Jonathan Roytenberg

    Bad English – Price of Love
    Scorpions – Wind of Change
    Bon Jovi – Wanted Dead or Alive
    Journey – Open Arms
    Bryan Adams – Everything I Do (I Do It for You)
    Survivor – I Can’t Hold Back
    Metallica – Nothing Else Matters
    Michael Bolton – Go The Distance
    Phil Collins – You’ll Be in My Heart
    Celine Dion – My Heart Will Go On

    • Jonathan Roytenberg

      Elton John – Can You Feel The Love Tonight
      Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody
      Led Zeppelin – Stairway to Heaven
      Beatles – Let it Be
      Kansas – Dust In the Wind
      Boston – Amanda
      Warrant – Heaven
      Air Supply – Making Love Out of Nothing at All
      Foreigner – I Want to Know What Love Is
      Chicago – You’re the Inspiration

  • Jonathan Roytenberg

    Guns ‘n’ Roses – November Rain
    REOSpeedwagon – Keep on Loving You
    Toto – I’ll Be Over You
    Def Leppard – Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad
    Eric Carmen – All By Myself
    Heart – What About Love
    KISS – Forever
    Lynyrd Skynyrd – Little Bird
    Meat Loaf – I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)
    Motley Crue – Home Sweet Home
    Poison – Be The One

Drop a comment!

