Review: Dead Trigger

I recently decided to ditch my iPhone and got myself a Samsung Galaxy S3, and the first game I downloaded was SongPop – which is exactly the same as the iPhone version, and I still lose all the time. Okay, that was an unimportant detail and you didn’t really care.

The next game I downloaded from the Google Play Store was a zombie FPS called Dead Trigger. It was high on the charts, it was free, so I thought “why not?”

I honestly didn’t expect it to be that good because I didn’t have good experiences with FPS games on the iPhone, so imagine my surprise when I found myself playing this game again and again.

Firstly, the graphics are so good, with detailed textures that look better than PS1 graphics, and I daresay it looks like PS2 graphics. Imagine that… a mobile game looking better than a console game. The zombies are varied enough not to look like you’re being attacked by one zombie in many different colored shirts, and the environments look pretty good too. Sure, the levels are a bit repetitive, but it’s a free game and it really doesn’t matter.

Most importantly, the controls are tight. By simulating a dual-stick setup with a “clickable area” on the right half of the screen for the trigger, you can get the accuracy you need to nail those headshots.

Like I said, I’ve been playing this game on a daily basis to earn more gold and cash to unlock new guns. I could buy it with real money, but it does seem like it’s not an impossible task to gradually unlock the guns without paying (unlike some other games out there).

Pros:

  • Amazing graphics for a mobile game
  • Tight controls
  • Enjoyable gameplay
  • It’s free!

Cons:

  • Repetitive levels (not that big a deal)
  • Controls can sometimes fail you when you’re panicking

About Drew

I love videogames, movies, my wife and my dog (in no particular order). View all posts by Drew

Drop a comment!

